Getting My Voice Back: Journeying to Open the Throat Chakra

For months, possibly years, I have held a lot of tightness and anxiety in my neck and shoulders. I have even noticed that since high school my singing range has slipped from a Soprano to an alto…hitting high notes just doesn’t happen anymore. I assumed it was a natural part of getting older, but after I visited a Shamanic Reiki healer this week I have come to realize it is something I can reverse! I have had a blocked, sometimes closed, fifth chakra, or Throat Chakra.

When she scanned my body and commented about the state of that chakra I was amazed that it hadn’t occurred to me before. In general I don’t have any problem communicating with people. My husband doesn’t often let me forget that I talk too much and could benefit from listening more! So how in the world could my Throat Chakra be closed? Well, as it turns out, the truth/s I have been withholding have been from myself, not others. I have a terrible gift of being able to write off things I don’t want to explore. Lately, I have this burgeoning belief that I’m special somehow. That I have a unique gift to share with the world. The problem is, every time I think about it I push it away because I’m afraid of seeming arrogant or having delusions of grandeur.

Later in our session, I was taught the Native American style of guided meditation called journeying. In my journey I met my spirit animal and experienced a cleansing and opening of my throat chakra. It was amazing the physical reaction I had in the middle of the journey sequence. I suddenly felt an intense tickle in my throat and began coughing as if clearing something out. My guide explained that my spirit animal was helping me release the blockage in the chakra. The next day I wrote a poem! It just flowed out of me and I plan to perform it as spoken word to whoever will listen to me! It’s incredible the inspiration I feel to write and create and my eagerness to share it with others. I have also noticed a difference in how I judge myself and my creative work. I’m learning to embrace my “style” and look at any thing I do, say or create as “art.”

For those of you who think you’re not creative or artistic I beg you to reconsider. I believe it is an innate element of human nature to be “creators”. Art can take any shape, it is simply physical manifestation of creativity. Basically anything you do or make can be considered art. So, take a good look at your life and ask yourself, “what are my talents?” and “what do I enjoy doing?” Chances are the themes that overlap in those two categories are your creative talents. Once you identify your gifts the next step is to have the self-confidence to ACT. Don’t let self-doubt stop you! You’ll know if you’re on the right track immediately because wonderful coincidence will start to occur. As my wonderful Aunt Eleanor once told me, “You know your with it when all the lights are turning green.” Just go with the flow!

Author: Kaycie

Express Yourself. The World needs it. Be the change you want to see.

8 responses to “Getting My Voice Back: Journeying to Open the Throat Chakra

  1. Wow Kaycie, I really need to check in with this because I think I might have the same blockage…MY neck and shoulders also have seemed tight for most of my adult life and I too fear some of these same reactions to my own actions. Thank you for some good insight here! My bio will be up soon my dear πŸ™‚ I have been busy… you know conforming to society with my “real job” and all 😦 SHANTI!!!

    • Sara,
      I was incredulous when my Shaman guide told me my throat was completely closed! I said, “it can’t be! I talk all the time!” Then, quite matter-of-factly she said, “You may be honest with everyone else, but you’re not honest with yourself.” Boom. Mind. Blown. She’s right! I am constantly selling myself short, which is a direct insult to my higher self and thus would cause constriction in my ability to communicate my Truth. I wrote a pretty decent spoken word poem the day after my spirit journey, I have also been active on this blog since that day. I also reached out to an old friend and talked to him for over an hour last night and my confidence and insights surprised even me! I can feel my neck and throat loosen up daily! I hope you find a way to speak your truths because I can’t wait to hear them!
      Love,
      K

  2. Pingback: Chakra Focus 5 of 7: Throat Chakra - Reiki Life Works·

  3. Hi Kaycie, I love your article, speaking up has always been a big issue for me so I have been very aware of my throat chakra, I love to tone and find this very helpful for unblocking and clearing, although I’ve been doing a bit of screaming lately too! Faithless men will tend to do that for you and I thank him for being such a great trigger. Thank you so much for your comment on my post. Kerry

    • Writing poetry and other pieces for this blog have helped me. I’m even thinking of trying to learn an instrument. I’m just looking for new ways to express myself and share my Truth. I wish you luck with your throat and please continue to share! I enjoy your blog! πŸ™‚

  4. “I have a terrible gift of being able to write off things I don’t want to explore. Lately, I have this burgeoning belief that I’m special somehow. That I have a unique gift to share with the world. The problem is, every time I think about it I push it away because I’m afraid of seeming arrogant or having delusions of grandeur.”

    I’m not alone! Reading this helped me so much, Thank you so much you helped in a way that I cant even really understand haha :). Have an awesome life :D!

    • That is sort of exactly why we started this blog, to connect with others who are going through what we are going through. My fellow contributors and I have all sorts of crazy stuff happen regularly and we just wanted to share it in order to understand it and reach out to others. We are all in this together. Learn and hone your gift and share it man! Have an awesome life and visit the blog when you feel the impulse πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Throat Chakra Video - Reiki Life Works·

Leave a Reply

