Searching for Synchronicity

I believe in synchronicity. This belief gives me the flexibility to see more than just simple cause and effect relationships. I look for meaning in my dreams, my thoughts and the physical world around me.  I see connections where others might see just coincidence. I am learning how to get the most out of synchronicity by posing questions.  Why did I see a robin this morning instead of a dove or a starling? Why did I suddenly remember an old friend I haven’t seen in a while? Why do I keep seeing 11:11 on the clock?

Once the questions are posed I send myself on a quest to find a meaningful answer. As I solve these mini mysteries I usually learn something about myself in the process. I rarely, if ever, get bored and I always feel like I am growing.

The pattern goes like this: notice a coincidence, ask a question, discover a synchronistic message. Repeat.

When I meet someone new I am always sure to ask myself, what message might the person have for me? Sometimes they come right out and say. For example, my new friend Nick recommended that I check out Bashar, whose messages really hit home for me and couldn’t have come at a better time! Other times the message is more subtle. This is especially the case when someone rubs me the wrong way. One guy makes me so uncomfortable that I can’t seem to communicate clearly around him. Words evade me and I end up stuttering and feeling foolish. I eventually realized that simply observing the way I feel when I am around him might actually be a message. When I thought about it this way I was able to recognize a pattern: when I don’t like someone I inadvertently allow them to deplete my energy. Now, I am learning to better protect myself when I am around people I feel are “energy suckers.”

Every person can provide us with knowledge about ourselves. Every encounter with another human being is a learning opportunity.

My favorite synchronistic signs come from Nature.

One afternoon I prayed to my guides because I was feeling down in the dumps. Moments later the wind responded by making the field of mustard weed dance in the sunlight. I took a deep breath and felt my awareness expand. As I did this a hawk flew overhead and screeched loudly. I watched the hawk for a moment and instantly knew what needed to be done. I headed in the direction of the great bird to a neighbor’s house near by. The neighbors had a large, aggressive dog who had attacked my little terrier last fall. I wasn’t sure what I was going to say when I got to the house, I just knew (as if the idea had been planted in my head) that I wanted to tell them that I forgive them. I became more and more nervous as I approached their long driveway. Despite my fear I knew by the tingling in my hands and the pounding of my heart that I was exactly where I needed to be. As I walked up their driveway the hawk swooped down in front of me with a squirrel dangling in its mouth. It perched on a tree limb and watched me intently. The bird got what it came for, and I knew that I would, too.

That afternoon I experienced the power of forgiveness.  I didn’t actually speak to the neighbors, but when I got to the door I saw the infamous dog tied to the porch. It may not have been much, but it was all I needed to see in order to forgive the people who owned the dog. They may not have offered to pay our vet bills, but at least they were preventing that dog from attacking again. I felt a weight lifted off of my heart as I let go of the malice I had been harboring towards my neighbors.

What if I hadn’t followed that hawk? What if I had ignored the signs and pushed the intuition away? The answer: I would still be carrying that anger and frustration around with me.

I realize that some people in my life think I’m overly optimistic, even a bit crazy sometimes, but the fact is that with each synchronicity I encounter the more connected I feel to Spirit and the more integrated I become. I don’t know what lies ahead, but I am certain that with each passing moment there are millions of signs; tiny opportunities to learn and grow. I trust that I will be given everything I need exactly when I need it and I hope that more people will come to that realization soon.

Follow your joy, to the best of your abilities, and don’t have too many expectations. Just try to enjoy the ride!

Namaste,

Kaycie

7 responses to “Searching for Synchronicity

  1. Lovesies….This past week I was at a meeting at the Yoga Studio and I had asked a question about handing out schedules to businesses in the area as an idea to promote the studio (it is a new studio). When I checked my phone later a friend of mine who works down the road in an office texted me asking if she could get schedule and pricing information for the ladies she worked with…I told the studio owner and she says “I feel like this always happens to you Sara…you draw people in, you think of something and it appears…” I thought that was interesting that she would notice that about my life…but why not hers??? I am sure she has these same occurrences, but probably doesn’t notice them in her own life. I just thought it was interesting and I hope I encouraged her to take a step back and look into synchronicities in her life.

    • Sara, how interesting! You do seem to attract things more quickly than others, perhaps her problem is that her thoughts don’t manifest fast enough for her to appreciate how synchronicity takes place?

      You have always been a bright light that attracts the attention of others. Keep following your path and others will be intrigued and listen to how you do it. It’s the best possible way to impact change in the world. ❤

      thanks for the comment! please feel free to write more. this was my hope when we started the blog after all, so that we could talk about stuff like this in a forum where others can get involved!

  2. Thank you for writing this. I asked this morning for more synchronicity and now I find your post. You are right though – it’s about recognising and looking for the signs (-:

    • If you haven’t seen it yet, treat yourself to the movie Jeff Who Lives at Home. I think you will really enjoy it. I found it inspiring as well.

      Thanks so much for the comment and I’m glad my post was valuable to you in some way! ❤

      Namaste,

      K

  3. Pingback: Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff | joyful cacophony·

Leave a Reply

