On Reason and Passion

Erich and I got into an argument this afternoon. It started as a silly game. I was dancing around the room creating an imaginary scenario where I challenged our neighbor to an actual duel for no good reason.

I would shout, “Ho, there Mitch90 (we call him that because of his license plates )! I have changed my mind about you parking in our yard. I find I can no longer tolerate it and it offends my senses! I challenge you to a duel to the death!” 

Erich told me I was being absurd and there was no way to justify such a challenge. Thus I began to try to justify it…

What if the guns I provided for the duel were fakes? 

Haha! Gotcha! It was a pretend duel all along!

Haha! Gotcha! It was a pretend duel all along!

Erich said that still wouldn’t justify it because the reason for dueling was unreasonable to begin with. To which I replied, But yes, wouldn’t it have been foolish for Mitch90 to agree to such terms? Thus, by making the whole thing a prank I would be teaching him a valuable lesson. Is that not a good reason for challenging him to a ridiculous duel? 

As we both went back and forth we started to get more and more personal. Then, the conversation suddenly turned from silly game to actual argument.

Within the period of the argument both made some pretty good points, and we also each took a few unnecessary jabs below the belt. Ultimately, we came to a reasonable conclusion. A little give and take that allowed us to grease the wheels of our marriage and keep things moving lovingly and efficiently.

In a way I think this kind of arguing is vital to a healthy marriage. We push each other to be better versions of ourselves. In a way I am his muse and he is mine.

After the argument I felt a sudden wave of inspiration . I would like to attempt to share the bits of information I was able to cling to after the wave subsided…

Don’t be afraid to feel like a hypocrite sometimes.Learn to embrace duality within yourself. Love the elements of yourself that you deem most unworthy, because those, too, can help define you!

God is infallible. There are no mistakes in the Universe. Everything that comes into existence, every object, thought and feeling has meaning and value. Even the forces that seem at odds have purpose and give meaning to one another. The light means nothing without the darkness. Without evil we do not know what is good. All duality is an illusion. 

The Truth of the Universe is too absurd and profound for my rational mind to fully comprehend. Before I can embrace the duality of the Universe, I must learn to unite the dualities within myself. I must crawl before I can walk. I must accept and understand my true Self before I can fully accept and understand the nature of God.

The lessons of Strength and Temperance can assist me in finding peace between my judgment and reason and my passion and appetite. 

The lion is passion and the woman is reason. It takes strength to find the balance between the two.

Gentle strength subdues the unruly passions.

Temperance is balancing one's need for freedom and one's need for security.

Gentle reason guides passion in a meaningful way.

Both images suggest the need for gentleness and warn against allowing either reason or passion to overwhelm the other. Sometimes it feels like there is a battle happening within, and today I got to see that inner battle play out as an argument with my husband. Thankfully Erich was willing to talk about our differences so that I was able to see that my passions sometimes run away with me.

I’ll leave you with the words of Kahlil Gibran, who has a way with conveying message far more artistically than I.Please consider his message mindfully and honor your reaction to them.

Namaste,

Kaycie

On Reason and Passion
 Kahlil Gibran

Your soul is oftentimes a battlefield, upon which your reason and your judgment wage war against your passion and your appetite.
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul, that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody.
But how shall I, unless you yourselves be also the peacemakers, nay, the lovers of all your elements?

Your reason and your passion are the rudder and the sails of your seafaring soul. If either your sails or your rudder be broken, you can but toss and drift, or else be held at a standstill in mid-seas.
For reason, ruling alone, is a force confining; and passion, unattended, is a flame that burns to its own destruction.
Therefore let your soul exalt your reason to the height of passion, that it may sing;
And let it direct your passion with reason, that your passion may live through its own daily resurrection, and like the phoenix rise above its own ashes.

I would have you consider your judgment and your appetite even as you would two loved guests in your house.
Surely you would not honour one guest above the other; for he who is more mindful of one loses the love and the faith of both.

Among the hills, when you sit in the cool shade of the white poplars, sharing the peace and serenity of distant fields and meadows — then let your heart say in silence, “God rests in reason.”
And when the storm comes, and the mighty wind shakes the forest, and thunder and lightning proclaim the majesty of the sky — then let your heart say in awe, “God moves in passion.”
And since you are a breath in God’s sphere, and a leaf in God’s forest, you too should rest in reason and move in passion.

7 responses to “On Reason and Passion

  1. New post on Vortex Quotes

    Where Do You Place Your Identity?
    by Debbie Happy Cohen
    Instead of placing your identity in other people, friends, lovers, ex-lovers, family life—because this can be precarious and sometimes detrimental—place it into you and the world. Put your identity into your experiences, not the people who you experience with. Though love the experiences you have with them. And love them. Share, joyously, drunkenly, wildly.

    This causes you to fall madly in love with life and yourself in a way that empowers you and everyone around you. Spilling love over like beautiful molten lava! Creating an energy where giving becomes your fuel—what builds you. In this sense life becomes perpetual motion and everything—everyone—around you including life, as you live it, becomes your teacher.

    ~ Kristi Stout, http://www.rebellesociety.com/2012/11/08/morsels-for-a-wicked-sexy-life/

  2. So many thoughts come to mind. 1. Duality: Not only do I 100% agree with “embrace duality.” Great quote. I also believe we should remain explorers in our mind/body/spirit/feces/etc. and try to convert our understanding of this vibration/force/etc. into language. I include Math in that category. Mathematicians have started. It’s an interesting field of social/behavior mathematics. I think Duality is a very important part of each individual.

    2. OK, your scenario (if I understand) is kinda funny, but completely absurd. I write this only because it seems like that was kind of the point. Here are my thoughts. First, if you come to my Home and say you want to “Dual”– with real guns,– you better have your gun drawn, because if I’m in America or any place that hasn’t taken my gun, I know 2 things: 1) My gun is pointed at you already. 2) you probably can’t see my gun.

    I win the dual. Thanks for playing. You were right, that was fun. Is somebody coming to pick up the carcass, or should I call Harvey Keitel?

    Theoretically, I no form of justice that is brokered on behalf of all stakeholders should be molested by any outsiders. That includes a state-sponsored legal system, which usually comes with a lot of baggage. Therefor, if 2 people agree to a gun fight, then a gun fight it shall. All’s fair in Love and War.

    3. That last picture you have about Brain/Heart…. is really stupid. Here’ s another way of saying it. “Heart, it’s worth dying for because you really don’t have choice. Otherwise, you’re kinda of a money-soaking vegetable, so would you mind if we pulled the plug sooner, rather than later.” I bring that up last because concepts/feelings are different than the language we choose to articulate so things get lost in translation. There’s Bad and Evil. Evil is very bad. What is the opposite of Evil. Is the opposite of Evil the same as the opposite of Bad?

  3. kaycers,

    First of all, thank you for following my blog; I think it perhaps undeserved, but I will nonetheless be grateful and honored that for some small reason you found it useful. 🙂

    Second, I’m usually puzzled by those who insist on chasing only “happiness” in their life. There are so many profound reasons to not avoid or fear difficulty or challenges in life and between our human family.

    Thank you for this post. I thoroughly enjoyed and embrace its message!

    • Thanks for stopping by Professor Taboo. I found your blog through Jerry “Peacekeeper”‘s page. I really liked your name! 🙂 I also think you have some great stuff on your blog and I’m glad to have found it!

      I do think the point of life is to enjoy it, but I don’t think that means you need to be “happy” all the time. I chase things that sparkle with the promise of something new and exciting. Sometimes this causes me sorrow and pain, sometimes great joy, but the chase is the exciting part of it all!

      Please leave comments anytime you are compelled to. I really do enjoy hearing what others think of my ideas and my writing!

      • Thank you kaycers. Yes, the name is inherently dueling, to borrow if I may your story, but the differences do NOT have to be permanent. Everything (from a macroscopic to the microscopic atomic dimensions) in our Universe/Multiverse demonstrates constant change, morphing, mutating, and evolving…so why the need ever for obstinance? If so, then good luck with that; swimming upstream or fighting nature, our planet, and the Universe/Multiverse! LOL And holy smitherings Batman! I LOVE that brain/heart image! Geeezzz, how so very true, huh?

        Temperance. Mmmmmm. 😉

  4. I’m happy for your comments because I sort of forgot about this post. At the time when I wrote this I had begun to do strange, impulsive things. I walked down the median of a busy overpass. I randomly did cartwheels in the narrow corridors at work. I did anything that would prove to myself my individual freedom. I wonder why I stopped pushing those limits lately? Perhaps I should challenge Mitch90 to that duel after all….

Leave a Reply

