Places that Make My Soul Sing

Multnomah Falls

Multnomah Falls

I will be in the Pacific Northwest of the United States this week. I went high school near Tacoma, WA and spent my college years in Portland, OR. This is my first trip back in a while.  I am looking forward to vising the area for a friends wedding. It will be so fulfilling to see friends and family. I can’t wait for all the hugs and laughter and catching up story telling late into the night. I don’t plan on sleeping much while I’m there!

Anderson Island

Anderson Island

What I do plan on doing is experience as much as possible. I often refer to my “new eyes” meaning the way I see the world since I’ve become a spiritual person. When I lived in the northwest I didn’t fully appreciate the beauty of the region. The physical landscape of Oregon and Washington are hard to surpass. I got married in the Columbia River Gorge which is more profoundly beautiful than any church I’ve been to in Europe and America combined!

Columbia River Gorge

Columbia River Gorge

I am looking forward to waking up early and practicing yoga in the fresh northwest air. I can’t wait to meditate at the top of Multnomah Falls. Even if just for a few minutes I think it will rejuvenate my Spirit!

It’s not just the natural beauty, but once again the people. The people I will see are some of the most wonderful people I know. My friends from college and high school who have supported and loved me through so many times, both difficult and joyful! My Mom and step-Dad who are always there for me when I need them and so excited to see me, too! There will be babies, oh so many babies to kiss and hold and cuddle and play with!

I will hug all of my loved ones with ferocity! I will breathe in their scents and feel their skin against mine. I will experience all that my senses (and propriety) will allow me to take in! I pray that I will be allowed a moment with each person to tell them how special they are to me. Even if it is just a wink or a brief whisper, or an extra long hug. I hope that I will be able to convey in the short time I am there how grateful I am to know each one of them.

I will travel with the Spirit and allow it to fill me up wherever I go! Hooray for vacations! Let’s make our whole lives like a vacation!

Mt. Rainier

Mt. Rainier

 

11 responses to “Places that Make My Soul Sing

  1. What a refreshing outlook on appreciation for family and present moment loving! Enjoy it all, miss Kaycie! I was thrust into an unexpected family vacation with siblings next week (taking another persons spot) and see after reading this — I have not been looking at it from the right prospective. Instead of worrying about what could go wrong, I shall be grateful and wrap my mind about the blessings that are involved. I really needed this outlook today. Thanks and safe travels.

  2. Hey kaycie this is Crystal. I met you on the plane. I just wanted to say we visited Multnomah falls and it was wonderful. THANK YOU for the suggestion. I feel blessed having met you.

    • Thanks for visiting my blog Crystal! If you ever wish you write a guest post please let me know! Comments are also highly encouraged!!

  3. hey! it’s mohawk here! the universe truly works in mysterious ways. but more on that later.
    we checked out the falls on the way home from the wedding including Burney Falls, which literally pour out of the earth as their source. nothing cleanses the soul quite like waterfalls. all silver trickling down. true magic. good adventures to you 5

    • Hey Shauna! I miss your pretty face already! I am glad you went to the falls. They really do feel cleansing don’t they? I am also happy we got to meet. I look forward to reuniting in the future! Check out the blog when you think about it! It’s a great way to keep in touch!

  4. How was the wedding? 🙂 I googled Columbia River George for more photos, and OMG, you got married there? That is just AMAZING.
    One question: how have you become more spiritual now? You talk about the journey but could you tell me a bit more about it? I think you are an amazing person, and very wise, considering you’re my age. I really feel like you’re special, I really do, and I hope we could meet one day!! Lots of love !!

  5. The wedding was even more wonderful than I anticipated. There was so much positive energy and synchronicity around this event that I’m sure it was a gathering that was planned before we were all born. One of my fellow wedding attendants said he felt like we were all part of a tribe in a past life and that this wedding was per-destined for us to reunite. At times I felt what he was talking about somewhere deep inside my soul.
    To answer your question about my spirituality I guess it started as a little girl and always wondering “why?” I have always been a seeker of knowledge, but it wasn’t until I began studying philosophy in college that I realized the depth my questions could lead me to. My love for metaphysics lead me to Easter philosophies and religions like Taoism, Buddhism and Hinduism. After I graduated college influential books and people pushed me towards yoga, meditation and prayer. Ultimately, the tipping point for me happened in December of 2012 when I went through a miscarriage. It was quite literally the worst thing that could happen to me, and yet in the darkness of recovering from that loss I found my connection to the Divine. I don’t label my faith, I simple recognize that I have it and allow new information to reach my soul as needed.
    Ultimately, it was my choice to see the meaning and beauty in the event that caused me so much heartache that made all the difference and now I feel stronger and more spiritually guided than ever before.
    I hope that helps you see where I am coming from. I am happy to discuss more of this with you anytime!
    You can also read my last post Insights on Suffering in my older blog (I haven’t done much with it lately). I wrote this shortly after the miscarriage.
    http://restlessinsights.blogspot.com/
    Peace, Love and Joy,
    Kay

Leave a Reply

