August: The Month of Allowance

Last month I tried something new. I set an intention for the entire month. Setting a focused intention allowed me to fully explore a few aspects of myself that I was ready to change, namely jealousy, envy and guilt.

Each challenge suddenly became an opportunity to grow. For example, my husband told me he had a small crush on a girl at work I realized I was being tested. Will I respond with jealousy or compassion and understanding? I was tempted to chose jealousy. I felt afraid of losing my husband and insecure about our connection. I confronted these feelings head on and shared them with, Erich. We were both able to discuss our feelings openly and honestly. Ultimately, we dealt with the situation maturely, with love, compassion and mutual respect. It was awesome!

Setting an intention for the month allowed me to spot all sorts of opportunities like the example I just gave. This month I decided to try it again and I’d love for others to join me!

I would like to present to you August: The Month of Allowance!

To firmly set my intention let me share with you this quote from Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose

“You do not become good by trying to be good, but by finding the goodness that is already within you, and allowing that goodness to emerge. But it can only emerge if something fundamental changes in your state of consciousness.”
Eckhart Tolle, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose

Allowance is something I have always struggled with. Early on I developed a hero complex. I made it my job to fight other people’s battles for them, in some cases pushing them to grow at the rate I deemed appropriate for them. This has caused me a lot of unnecessary stress and anxiety. It probably also kept my loved ones from growing as well because I wasn’t allowing them to follow their own inner guidance. I am slowly learning to let go and allow others to step up to their own problems, while also learning to face my own. I must trust that others can help themselves, and allow things to progress naturally without too much interference.

I must also allow myself to let go of my tendency towards perfectionism. I like to do things just right. I also feel the need to “fix” myself, thus determining that who I am right now is never good enough. I now recognize that making perfection or even enlightenment my goals is a trick of the Ego. The journey is all that matters, becoming attached to the outcome is an unhealthy habit and the most likely the cause of a lot of my own frustration and suffering. I would like to learn to let go, and just allow my true nature to shine through. I wan to appreciate who I am and simply be aware of my unique traits. If I can just let go and be true to myself I might actually like what I see!

If you have troubles with allowance and acceptance then set this intention with me for the month of August and we can hold each other accountable, share insights and stories and congratulate each other when it’s all over!

Namaste,

Kay

5 responses to “August: The Month of Allowance

  1. I can ALWAYS trace my worst behavior to an ego based fear of some kind. An important discovery for me.

    • Every time you recognize being caught in the web of the Ego you can find an opportunity to shift your consciousness to a higher level. I hope you celebrate yourself each time you make those important discoveries! 🙂

  2. August always reminds me of abundance and increased awareness around gratitude for the goodness I already have within. When I change my inner perception my outer reflection is transformed, revealing the beauty that has been obscured by my attitude. Awareness to be ‘in the moment’.

    • My sentiments exactly, janiceanna! You have a beautiful way with words! Thanks for the re-post and for the comment. It is nice to hear what others are thinking! ❤ Have a joyful month of abundance, awareness and beauty!

Leave a Reply

