Letting Go

Letting Go of Suffering

It’s a strange idea that we often choose to suffer, but just because it seems odd does not mean it isn’t true. Think about the quote by Thich Nhat Hanh. How often do you prolong your own suffering because of fear?

Sure I’m miserable at work, but the job market is just too risky.

I’d love to be a dancer, but I’d probably just become a starving artist.

I know he hurts me, but if I leave him I’ll be alone.

There are millions of scenarios in which we knowingly deprive ourselves of joy because we fear changing our circumstances. The key to allowing change and growth lies in our ability to let go of what no longer serves us. If a relationship has become toxic, let that person go. If your closet is cluttered with things that you don’t wear anymore, get rid of it!

If you don’t let go of things you end up carrying a lot of unnecessary weight around.

If you carry only what you need, you will get where you're going faster.

Do you want to look like this?

In one of my all time favorite movies Labyrinth, the protagonist eats a poisoned peach and drifts into a land of material illusion, which Jim Henson brilliantly depicts as a junk yard. When you cling to the people and things that give you comfort you are only weighing yourself down and sometimes obstructing your progress towards more important things.

Learn to let go.

If you carry only what you need, you will get where you're going faster.

If you carry only what you need, you will get where you’re going faster.

In the Tarot we see the value of letting go in the Ten of Wands. Why is he struggling with all those sticks? The funny thing about this card is that while he struggles he fails to notice that he is carrying more than just sticks…they are wands, a symbol of magic and the ability to manifest our dreams. He labors under his own ignorance.

I am not suggesting that letting go is easy. In fact, I know exactly how hard it can be, but I don’t let that keep me from trying. If you are having a hard time letting go of your own suffering consider this message:

Good luck.

Namaste,
Kay

6 responses to “Letting Go

  1. Thanks a million Kay. Your words have come at a time of indecision. To stay or to let go. The signs clearly reveal to let go, yet it takes much courage and faith.

    It’s amazing how children can take the leap of faith. Reminds me of a story. There was a draught in a city far away. In a nutshell, they gathered in their fields to pray for rain. Only one child brought an umbrella along and was bewildered that the others hadn’t!

    Will mosey along though for awhile until the signs are clearer. I need more signs … lol! Namaste back! Love your writing! Keep it up!

    • gill, thank you for that lovely story! I’d love to write a post about that one! ❤

      Also, if you are feeling "stuck" I would be happy to give you a free email tarot reading. I am working towards becoming a professional reader. I read in person professionally, but email is a different story….anyway I need the practice and it sounds like you could use some perspective. The Tarot helps deconstruct patterns of thought and behavior that might be holding you back.
      If you are interested email me at kaycie25@gmail.com
      Namaste,
      Kay

  2. Hello! I met you when you came into Branches last week. I love what you and Mina are bringing to the community and… It’s great to meet like minded people.

    • Sadie, it was so nice to meet you! You will have to join Mina and I for a lunch date or something soon! I know what you mean about meeting like minded people! Thanks for coming to the blog, if you ever want to post something your thoughts are welcome here!
      Also, on Sunday mornings Mina and I do yoga, meditate and do self-Reiki. You are welcome to join us!

    • I’m sorry to hear about your loss. Allow yourself to go through the stages of grief and don’t judge yourself. It is important to feel through all of what comes up so that you don’t carry any of those heavy emotions around with you (trust me it’s taken my husband 3 years to get me to drop most of my emotional baggage!). I’m glad that this post helped you. I wish you the best!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

