Abstaining from Complaining: Follow-Up & Ego Break Down

“To complain is always nonacceptance of what is.”Eckhart Tolle

Synchronicity strikes again! Only two days after my Abstaining from Complaining weekend challenge, what shows up in the book I am reading? An entire chapter focused on how complaining feeds the Ego. I was blown away by the timing!

My husband and I are reading Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose. What Tolle has to say about complaining definitely corresponds to how I have experienced it in my life, both in myself and from observing others. Ultimately, it was VERY hard to go a full weekend without complaining. I did not succeed, but at least I was aware each time the urge to complain about something arose. It was incredible how often I grumble about things, and I’m supposedly one of the most positive person people know!

Yesterday, I could not find the words to say to describe my weekend of “no” complaining. It was trying, but definitely a worthwhile endeavor. I felt disappointed that I had failed, but after reading from A New Earth today I felt so much better. I am learning and that’s all that really matters!

https://joyfulcacophony.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/17cd2-pantheism5.jpg

One way to think about ego is as a protective heavy shell, such as the kind some animals have, like a big beetle. This protective shell works like armor to cut you off from other people and the outside world. What I mean by shell is a sense of separation: Here’s me and there’s the rest of the universe and other people. The ego likes to emphasize the “otherness” of others.

This sense of separation is an intrinsic part of the ego. The ego loves to strengthen itself by complaining—either in thoughts or words—about other people, the situation you find yourself in, something that is happening right now but “shouldn’t be,” and even about yourself. For example, when you’re in a long line at the supermarket, your mind might start complaining how slow the checkout person is, how he should be doing this or doing that, or he failed to do anything at all—including packing the bag of the person ahead of you correctly.

When this happens, the ego has you in its grip. You don’t have thoughts; the thoughts have you—and if you want to be free, you have to understand that the voice in your head has created them and irritation and upset you feel is the emotional response to that voice Only in this way can you be present to the truer world around you and see the golden shade in a pound of pears on the scanner, or the delight of a child in line who begs to eat them.The trick, of course, is to work to free ourselves from this armor and from this voice that is dictating reality. – Eckhart Tolle

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/oprahs-lifeclass/Eckhart-Tolle-on-How-to-Free-Yourself-from-Your-Ego-Armor#ixzz2cXuvc3mj

https://i2.wp.com/www.motivationalquotesabout.com/images/quotes/the-ego-is-not-who-you-really-are-deepak-chopra.jpg

If you want to learn more about how to stop feeding the Ego with complaining take a look at Oprah’s Companion Guide to A New Earth (this link shows most of the text from Chapter 3). Both of these resources are helpful in learning to eliminate the negative behaviors of complaining, fault-finding, and harboring resentment.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/p480x480/968910_622246854476563_463649367_n.jpg

I also recommend getting a copy of Tolle’s book. It was given to me by a stranger on a train a few years ago and sadly I am just now reading it, but it is already blowing my mind and I’m only chapter 3! I am so grateful that my wonderful husband agreed to read it with me. Having someone to discuss things with is so helpful!

If any of my lovely readers would like to discuss the book with me,  please reach out in the comments section!

Namaste Lovely People,

Kay

Hells Yeah!

Hells Yeah!

6 responses to “Abstaining from Complaining: Follow-Up & Ego Break Down

  1. Kay,
    Seems like that little three letter word keeps popping up! You would think that whoever discovered the ego would have given it a lot more letters. Eckhart Tolle obviously read his share of spiritual/metaphysical writings. Haven’t read his book but why do we have to when you will be sharing the profound stuff? It has been added to the “Books To Read”
    list and is #1,440,747. Look forward to your interpretation and analysis.
    Thank you,
    Jerry

  2. Jerry,
    I also have about 1,440,700 books on my list haha! It’s so hard to keep up! I hope you don’t mind me sharing my discoveries, I realize that not everyone will have the time to read this so I want to at least give a taste. You do the same thing on your blog with some books, which I really appreciate! I trust your observations and insights. Sometimes I feel like this blog community is like having an army of consciousness to help me expand my own. I’ll think to myself “gee I wish I had time to learn more about what’s going on with this fracking stuff…”and then BOOM you write a series of informative posts and do the research I didn’t quite have the time or gumption to do.

    It is almost as if you are an extension of myself in a way. Like the way my heart just works automatically and I don’t even notice it unless I focus my awareness on it. When I do focus on it I am amazed that it works so well without my Ego keeping tabs on it. You are like a heart outside of my body. You keep on beating and sending me vital information, and when I take the time to be aware of you I am inspired and filled with gratitude.

    Namaste,

    Kay

  3. Kay,
    You are correct in saying the blog community is an army of consciousness. It’s almost like being stoned, consciousness expansion, without needing any drug at times. Inspire: 1. arouse emotion etc. 2. prompt to extraordinary actions. So we try to make the best of it – maybe even somehow helping a fellow brother or sister along the way.
    Thank you,
    Jerry

Leave a Reply

