Haibun Challenge: Thirsty

“Not only the thirsty seek the water, the water as well seeks the thirsty.”Rumi

The mosquito landed on my finger and for some reason I allowed him to stay. Go ahead, enjoy it. At least one of us deserves a moment of peace. I don’t know why I didn’t swat him. I usually would. I hate mosquitoes. Mostly because they seem to love me so much, which means itching, slapping, discomfort and ultimately retreat each time I try to spend a summer evening outdoors.

Many times have I thought you win again you bloodsucking heathens! then angrily marched off to seek refuge. I guess I don’t like the way I allow them to limit my freedom. I let them decide whether or not a place is comfortable for me or not. I lose my patience and peace around them.  It’s funny how such a tiny creature can have such a profound effect on my attitude.

This day was different. As I watched him slurp away I couldn’t help but notice how elegant his tiny body actually was. He was like a tiny yogi, gripping my middle finger with his long black legs the way I spread my toes into the Earth during tadasana. So sturdy, so confident. He seemed so unafraid of my power to squish him in a heartbeat. He was just doing what came naturally to him, quenching his thirst to survive.

So I kept watching as his slightly translucent abdomen expanded as he gulped down my blood. I have never looked at a mosquito this closely before. I could actually see the deep red of my bodily fluids filling him up like a tiny insect blow-up doll. Before I knew it a deep sense of pride and appreciation swept over me. Yes! That’s it! You need this and I can give it to you. Take it! Drink up little friend! The wave of peace and calm that swept over me was intensely moving. I felt serene. Abundant. Nurturing. Earthy. I felt as if Pachamama was channeling all her loving energy through me.

I talked to the mosquito until he finished. I asked him as sweetly as I could to only take as much as he needed, and when he was finished to leave only a slight trace that he was ever there. I explained that it hurts me when his kind covers my body in red, itchy bumps. He just sat there listening and slurping and growing fatter by the second. Soon he was finished and lightly ascended into the air and disappeared with the breeze.

I looked at my hand carefully, resisting the urge to scratch compulsively. There was a slight itch, but eventually it faded and no itchy red bump ever popped up. I have always wondered why mosquitoes seemed to favor me in large groups of people, why they ganged up on me and followed me around. Now I am wondering if perhaps it was I who was drawn to them. The mother in me knew they needed someone gentle and patient to let them feed in peace. When I finally gave in and played that role both our needs were met and harmony prevailed.

I no longer hate mosquitoes. Gratitude and love have taken its place. I realized that sometimes I need mosquitoes as much as they need me, and I am still amazed at how such a tiny creature can have such a profound effect on my attitude.

Drink up little one
Nurse yourself on my nectar
You and I are One.

This was my first Ligo Haibun Challenge. If you enjoy writing and want to challenge yourself I encourage you to check it out!

Namaste,

Kay

19 responses to “Haibun Challenge: Thirsty

  1. My house has been infested recently, leading to 15-20 bites a day. This is a good lesson for me cause I’ve just been angry. I resolved it by discovering that they don’t like lavender so I’m keeping a lavender saohet by me and a natural mosquito repellant. But it didn’t occur to me to change my thoughts about mosquitos…

    • That’s crazy yogaleigh! I’m glad you learned the lavender trick, plus it smells nice too! As much as my attitude has changed, I wouldn’t let them live in my house in those kinds of numbers. Do what you gotta do to survive and promote harmony ❤

  2. Nice experience but I don’t know how this would go down with someone in the tropics of Africa where 80% of mosquitoes carry malaria parasite. As your ‘elegant’ fellow is sucking he is also refilling you with poison. Well, the post sure gave me a different picture of mosquitoes and reminds me that every creature has some beauty and worthy of appreciation.

  3. I’m sure I won’t feel so serene when multiple suckers latch on. It was just nice to finally have an intimate moment with what I once thought was an enemy!

  4. Very well written.Enjoyed reading it. Amazing a mosquito can enlighten someone. Once I tried that but it was so greedy it sucked so much that was unable to fly away then i gave it nirvana.

  5. What a great take on “thirst”! It is amazing how such a small insect can affect our emotions and actions. Nicely done. I look forward to reading more of y our haibuns! Maureen

  6. Ooh, now that’s a very clever and unusual response. I think I will have to work very hard to love mosquitoes, but then we all learn lessons from different and unexpected events.

  7. Interesting, Kayce. When I lived in the Midwest for close to 2 decades, I suffered miserably from multiple mosquito bites every summer. I noticed that when I moved to Tacome WA 10 years ago that I never suffered another mosquito bite. Not one. You know how my path unfolded. I’m ultimately in a much happier place. Were the mosquitoes in the Midwest the harbingers of what was to come? Was their purpose to make me uncomfortable enough to recognize that I had to move on? For the record, I now live in Salem OR and I STILL haven’t laid eyes on a single mosquito…

    • Thanks, Karen! It is so wonderful to have you visit my blog and leave such a thoughtful comment. I genuinely appreciate the time you took to read and write here! ❤

  8. Pingback: I Don’t Know I’m Thirsty | angieinspired·

  9. Pingback: Haibun: Samara Recognized | Bastet and Sekhmet·

  10. I was definitely thinking of you Cara, when I wrote that! I had my little Pachamama statue with me when the mosquito showed up. I’m so glad you girls thought of me at that witch’s market! ❤

Leave a Reply

