Celebrating Me!

Namaste and Happy New Year friends!

I am in a mood to celebrate! Why? Well, for starters this is my first post of 2014 and it is my 100th post!

100th_post2

 

When I look back at 2013 I am proud of all that I accomplished. As a blogger I have come a long way. First of all, I learned the basic mechanics of how to create and run a successful blog. I didn’t realize how much I had learned about html coding, graphic design and other online basics until I started building my first website this month! Woohoo! Check back soon for updates on my upcoming Tarot website!

I also learned to embrace my own voice as a blogger and grow my self-confidence. I used to feel anxiety when I sat down to write. I would read other blogs and think, “I’ll never be able to write like that.” I finally learned to accept that, no I won’t ever write like anyone else, but that’s the beauty of blogging, I get to be 100% me! The fact that I have been able to write about the topics I enjoy and at the same time connect with some many other talented and amazing bloggers has been a huge boost to my confidence. I have so enjoyed the WordPress community and all the support and encouragement we share. Thank you all!

This journey has also helped me learn to express myself in other creative ways. For example, I now perform on stage at open mic nights with my younger brother on a regular basis. It feels so good to sing on stage! I also began practicing Tarot and Reiki professionally. “Coming out” as a Tarot reader in my small community was a little bit daunting. Around here people don’t always respond well to that type of thing, but once again I felt so encouraged friends, family and my blog community that I finally stepped out of my “mystic closet.” Perhaps the most shocking example of the renewed sense of self-confidence I feel this year is my plans to pose nude for a painting class in a few weeks! It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, but was too afraid to admit it. I decided that in 2014 I am not going to let fear of criticism or fear of failure hold me back anymore! Watch out world!

being_me_by_rounddrop-d4ytf5s

I am proud of the changes I have made. I have grown spiritually and emotionally and I know that I will only continue to grow, because my desire to improve myself is never ending. What is more important is that I am also learning to love, forgive and celebrate myself as well. I am learning to be OK with where I am, while still striving for where I want to be.

When I was in Teach For America, I always made sure to celebrate my students’ achievements. When a child met a goal or overcame a challenge I would take the time to model how important it is to enjoy one’s own success. Well, it’s about time I started doing that for myself, and why not now? I hope you, yes YOU, will also take this approach to heart and try it for yourself.

love-yourself-1st

One final thing I would like to publicly celebrate with you is quite possibly the most exciting, life changing news of my life: I’m going to be a Mom! My husband and I are expecting our first child in May of this year. I am so grateful that this little Being has decided to allow me to be its mother. I am also reminded of the baby I lost in December of 2011 and I am even more appreciative that I have had a healthy pregnancy so far. I wish to celebrate the progress I have made from a place of fear about being pregnant again, to a place of excitement and determination to be the best parent I can be! I look forward to sharing my pregnancy journey and my transition into parenthood with you this year!

Tummy Pick

19 Weeks and feeling blessed!

Thank you for following my blog, reading this post, commenting and supporting me in my journey of self discovery and growth. May this year bring you peace, joy and prosperity.

Happy New Year and Hooray for my 100th Post!

Namaste,

Kay

 

7 responses to “Celebrating Me!

  1. Kay,
    Happy New Year. Congratulations on your 100th post and being with the little one. You may already be aware of this, but there are reports that ultrasounds are dangerous for the child. Gary Null did a video on YouTube about the issue. Best of luck to you in 2014.
    Thanks,
    Jerry

  2. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Thank you for this beautiful blog you got going on! Congrats on the baby and on not caring what others think, and being you. This is certainly inspiring and energising πŸ™‚

  3. Jerry, I hadn’t heard that yet, but I probably won’t be getting any more ultrasounds now that I’ve found my midwife. It’s overwhelming the things that can harm us and we don’t even know it! Thank you for sharing!

  4. Happy 2014!
    This is sure to be an awesome year for you.
    Congratulations to you & your husband on your new family member that’s on the way. πŸ™‚

  5. Kay you look wonderful… congratulations… I had actually missed you for a while… we have finished our Free E Book in my january challenge, if you would like to download a copy from my homepage side bar and share… we hope to inspire many hearts to open in their own awakening… Take care, Barbara x

    • I would love to share your E Book! Was it hard to make? I have been considering trying my hand at E Books! Looking forward to reading it. Thanks for reading my posts and sharing with me. πŸ™‚
      Love & Light,
      Kay

Leave a Reply

