Learn to Receive and the Giving Gets Better – A Dialogue with a Wise Lady

I was blessed with the opportunity to talk to a wise woman this morning. Ms. J offered me a thoughtful gift for my baby. I had trouble accepting her offer and she questioned me about it. This is the conversation that followed.

Me: I’m not good at receiving gifts, compliments or really anything nice.

Ms. J: Well don’t you think you’re worth it?

Me: Well…I want to believe that, but I guess somewhere deep down, I don’t. No, I guess I don’t feel like I deserve praise and gifts.

Ms. J: Well you do.

Me: You’re probably right…

Ms. J: I am. You’re just like I used to be. you like giving more than you like receiving.

Me: Yes, I do.

Ms. J: Well honey, when you finally learn to receive compliments and recognition – which you will learn – it makes the giving a lot better, too.

I know she’s right and I believe in the message. I hear myself saying the same things to clients who come to me for healing sessions and friends who openly share with me. Why can’t I seem to get this message through to myself? What’s the block? I’m still trying to figure that out, but on mornings like this I start to realize that there’s no rush and that each day I’m improving just a little bit more. I’m happy with where I am and who I am. Life may not be so complicated after all…

 

Namaste,

Kay

 

2 responses to “Learn to Receive and the Giving Gets Better – A Dialogue with a Wise Lady

  1. You are beautiful, kind, smart, wise, caring and overall amazing. Know that, sweetie, and by owning up to it, your baby will learn from example.
    Love ya.

  2. Thank you Erika! I am all of those things and I make it my goal to be that way as often as I can. You are totally right – that is the kind of behavior I want to model to my baby everyday! ❤ Thank you for the encouragement as always! ❤

Leave a Reply

