The Feng Shui of Abundance: Clearing Clutter

Not long ago, I picked up the book The Feng Shui of Abundance: A Practice and Spiritual Guide to Attracting Wealth into Your Life by Suzan Hilton. Lucky for me it was only $.50 at the local Goodwill, so it seemed like a sound investment!

This book is awesome! If you are interested in the art of Feng Shui and also interested in learning how to streamline your environment to attract abundance and wealth your way, this book is for you!

What we want in our lives is ease and flow. We want energy to come and go freely, bringing us the experiences we desire and allowing us the space we need to freely explore, create and grow. Finding balance is the key to living a life of ease and abundance.

Personally, I struggle with letting things go. Clutter collects in my house like dust bunnies under a couch. I have stacks of unopened mail, shelves full of unread books, closets full of shoes and clothing I never wear and old broken containers of eye shadow in colors I never use. Suzan Hilton explains that clutter is energy that is stuck. It takes up space in your life and shuts down the flow of energy. In other words, it’s the opposite of streamlined energy.

There are lots of reasons for holding on to things. In my case, there are two main reasons: 1) The “what if I need this someday?” excuse and 2) Someone I care about gave this to me, so I “must” keep it to honor my relationship with him/her.

Neither of these are really good reasons to hold on to things. It may be difficult to let things go, but it IS possible and healthy to do so. As Hilton explains,

We associate the object with the event and person who gave it to us. If we are open and flow with our emotions that are connected with the person, then we can thank him or her for the item, recognize it’s no longer in our best interest to keep it around, perhaps offer it back to the person, or to a favorite relative or other friend, and let it go. We can also just let it go to some favorite organization. When our emotional energy is not flowing, then taking any of these steps can be quite challenging. And if the person who gave it to us is no longer walking with us in this life, then we may keep it as a reminder even if we no longer want the item. Clutter and stuck emotions go together.  (pg 63)

This really resonates with me in a deep way. I often tell people that my yoga mat serves as a reflection of my life, and vice versa, and an area that often struggle with are my hips. I store a lot of my undesirable emotions in my hips and releasing it is very difficult for me. Usually, after weeks or months of avoiding deep hip openers I finally get the courage to sit in pigeon pose until I cry. Even though it is difficult to do this, I recognize that there is immense value in it. Once I release those emotions I usually have a burst of creative/productive energy and things start moving in my life again.

I am beginning to extend this practice into my day-to-day life. One practice I have adopted is getting rid of something everyday. I donate, give away to a friend, recycle or throw away something that I recognize I no longer need. It is incredibly EASY to find one thing to get rid of everyday and the experience is quite freeing.

There is still a lot of clutter in my life. My next action step comes from Hilton’s book. She recommends taking a look at your belongings (I plan on doing this one room at a time) and asking yourself the following questions:

  • Do I love this?
  • Does it fit into my lifestyle as I am currently living it?
  • Does it bring me joy and ease?
  • Am I saving it for someone who loves and wants it?
  • Is it of great value to me for sentimental reasons?
  • Will I use it in the next couple of years?
  • Does it make my heart sing?
  • Does it speak to my soul?

If your answers to all of the questions are no, then ask yourself where the item fits in your life. If you want to live yoru life with joy and ease, some things will not add to your movement and flexibilty. Let them go with yoru blessing to someone who will find them joyful and easeful. (pg. 64)

I did this recently with a Tarot deck, and I am so glad I did. The friend I gave them to uses them regularly, and it is obvious they have improved his quality of life. He also uses the cards to help others. When I saw him using them, it made my heart sing, because if I had continued to hold onto them they would have just collected dust in a box in my room.

Everything is made of energy, and energy needs open space in order to move. Clear the clutter in your life, help yourself get “unstuck” and watch transformation take place. It is easier than you think. Reach out for support if you need it and we can clear our clutter together! Abundance for all! Hooray!

Namaste,

Kay

feng shui balance

4 responses to “The Feng Shui of Abundance: Clearing Clutter

Leave a Reply

