Meditation: Raising Your Vibration with Poetry

Namaste.

This meditation is focused specifically on a poem by Kahlil Gibran, but it can be used for any poetry that resonates with you. Poetry is capable of evoking catharsis, and this release can promote profound healing the mind-body. I have experienced the emotional healing power of art and I’ve learned that meditation and Chakra work helps me process the experience of healing more consciously. I also find that through practice I am more aware of my subtle body and able to expand my perception beyond my physical body and my 5 senses.

Please read through the directions once before you begin. Allow yourself to move through the steps intuitively. There is no wrong way to meditate, just try to get in touch with your center and trust your instincts. Be patient and loving with yourself. Enjoy!

Prepare Your Body

Relax in a comfortable chair, lay down on Yoga mat or on the floor. Take a few slow, deep breaths until you feel your body start to relax automatically. Scan your body for tension and relax those spaces with your awareness and your breath. Give yourself at least 5 minutes for this practice.

Prepare Your Mind

Clear your head of mental chatter by focusing your awareness on your breath coming and going. As you breath in think “I am breathing in” and as you breath out think, “I am breathing out.” Do this until your mind feels calm and clear. Give yourself 5-10 minutes.

Prepare Your Chakras

For this poem I recommend focusing on the Third Eye and Heart Chakras. First, open your Third Eye. One way to do this is by closing your eyes and focusing your energy on your Third Eye. Visualize a light switch with a dimmer knob.Imagine turning the knob until the light is on, slowly turn the knob increasing the intensity of the light. You might feel a slight sensation in your forehead or see purple or white light. If you don’t feel or see anything, don’t worry. Trust in this process, over time you will become more aware of subtle shifts in your energy field.

I like using Yoga poses such as Camel Pose or Cobra Pose to open my Heart Chakra. You can also gently thump your chest with a closed fist, this will help activate your Thymus. If you have never worked with your Thymus before please try this activation meditation from spiritual teacher, Debra King.

Receive the Poem

Before you read, open yourself to healing. Tell your spiritual guides that you are open and ready to receive any information that will heal your mind, your body and your soul. Read the poem silently. Allow the words to unfold and show you their meaning.

SAID A BLADE OF GRASS – Kahlil Gibran

Said a blade of grass to an autumn leaf, “You make such a noise falling! You scatter all my winter dreams.”

Said the leaf indignant, “Low-born and low-dwelling! Songless, peevish thing! You live not in the upper air and you cannot tell the sound of singing.”

Then the autumn leaf lay down upon the earth and slept. And when spring came she waked again — and she was a blade of grass.

And when it was autumn and her winter sleep was upon her, and above her through all the air the leaves were falling, she muttered to herself, “O these autumn leaves! They make such noise! They scatter all my winter dreams.”

Speak the Poem

In your strongest, clearest speaking voice read the poem aloud. Notice how speaking the poem aloud gives you a new perspective.

SAID A BLADE OF GRASS – Kahlil Gibran

Said a blade of grass to an autumn leaf, “You make such a noise falling! You scatter all my winter dreams.”

Said the leaf indignant, “Low-born and low-dwelling! Songless, peevish thing! You live not in the upper air and you cannot tell the sound of singing.”

Then the autumn leaf lay down upon the earth and slept. And when spring came she waked again — and she was a blade of grass.

And when it was autumn and her winter sleep was upon her, and above her through all the air the leaves were falling, she muttered to herself, “O these autumn leaves! They make such noise! They scatter all my winter dreams.”

Write Your Thoughts

Spend a few minutes writing in your journal. Remember to make notes about how you felt and any sensations in your mind or body that seemed unusual or interesting. Share your thoughts on the meaning of the poem and its significance in your life right now.

Seal Your Chakras

Place your hands over your heart and your brow and imagine bathing them in white light. Close your Third Eye, imagine turning the knob on the dimmer switch again, this time turning the light down until it is off.  Ask your spiritual guides to seal and protect your chakras. Say thank you for their support. Feel gratitude for the Universal Energy that flows through you and all around you.


 

I hope you enjoyed this practice. Please leave comments below with feedback as to whether or not this helped you! I love sharing the tools in my spiritual toolbox with others, and I am dedicated to making these practices accessible to all Beings!

Peace and Love,

Kay

2 responses to “Meditation: Raising Your Vibration with Poetry

  1. The poem really hit home when read aloud. To read it soundlessly conveys the story, but to read it out loud put me directly into the characters’ (the leaf/blade of grass) perspectives.

    This meditation awakened in my mind thoughts like:
    “We are sitting in different seats on the same ride.”
    “We are them. They have been us. We will be them again.”
    “The Leaf and the blade of grass are One in the same cycle. Their perception of division is a temporary illusion.”

    • Thank you friend for your thoughtful feedback.It is true, we are them, they are us, one in the same cycle…Isn’t this all the more poignant after last night’s energy share? For me, this poem is significant in helping me address people with whom contrast/conflict arises often. I can seek within myself a place of understanding and empathy, but I don’t have to spend time with people who make me feel bad. When I find myself around them, I can reach within and see myself in them, but I can also walk away when I need to. Just thinking out loud here…

Leave a Reply

