How I Became a Professional Tarot Reader

Shout out to my favorite photographer, Lauren, for my excellent Tarot headshots! ❤

I have been reading Tarot and Oracle cards for 4 years now. It began as a personal practice for self reflection and meditation, but it soon became much more. Family and friends began asking me for readings and I discovered I had a knack of giving clear, direct and helpful insight. I also noticed I could intuit information from the cards that surprised people into saying things like, “how did you know that?” or “whoa, that just gave me chills!”. I would be lying if I said I didn’t get a little thrill in those moments myself. I still do in fact. It feels really awesome to be able to call up vital information and insights for people. I eventually discovered that what I do could be considered a form of channeling.

Working with Tarot cards quickly developed into working with my Spirit Guides and uncovering my latent psychic abilities. In meditation and during readings I directly connect with them in order to get the information needed for healing to take place. Some of how it happens is a mystery to me. I learn new ways to “listen” every time I do a reading. Sometimes it just feels like an overwhelming sense of knowingness, in other words I just get a feeling about something that is so strong that I just go with it (this is a psychic ability known as clairsentience). I am also clairaudient, which means I hear things with my inner ears. My guides usually feed me information in the form of song lyrics or a word or phrase that gets repeated in my mind as if placed there by someone else. I hear it in my own inner voice (the same one I use to read aloud with) but I have learned to tell the difference between my thoughts and clairaudient messages (perhaps I will write a post about how I learned to do this if you are interested!). For a full list of the common psychic abilities follow this link.

I love doing readings for others. I always learn a lot about the cards, about life, about human interpersonal dynamics, about addiction and harmful patterns and how to overcome them, about the power of thought and perception. Truthfully, I would do all readings for free if I could, but there is a part of me that knows it is far wiser to allow people to make an exchange of some kind for their readings. I am also a Reiki practitioner, and one of the values instilled in me by my Reiki master is that people often do not value what they are given for free as much as they value something they have paid for. I don’t really know why this is, but I have experimented with this and oft times the free readings I do help people, but the paid readings impact people in a much deeper and lasting way. The same goes for Reiki and other healing work that I do. Perhaps it is part of being human, we feel we need to make some sort of exchange for healing in order to receive it more fully. There is also the practical side of things, if I wanted to be more available to do readings regularly I had to quit my day job, which means I need to earn income somehow in order to survive.

Learning to become a professional reader was much more challenging for me than learning to read the cards. In fact I am still learning how to attract more clients both online and in my local setting. What helped me the most when I just started out was following Biddy Tarot. Brigit’s blogs, online resources and webinars were the teaching tools I needed to help propel my practice into the functional business it is today. I still have a lot to learn, but I am so grateful to Brigit for showing me how it can be done (and through her own success that it can be done at all!).

I offer readings in many ways, but I think my favorite kind to do are email readings, just because I get to reach out to people all over the world. I also enjoy the writing process during a reading. It gives me more time and better access to my intuition. Plus, email readings are a great tool for self reflection because clients can look back at them whenever they want!

I also LOVE teaching others how to use the Tarot. Teaching has been a gift of mine for a long time. In college I worked closely with the Writing Center as a philosophy and theology writing tutor, the freshman resource center as a peer tutor, and an assistant coach for a local high school basketball team. I also worked as an in-home facilitator working with an Autistic child. After college I taught elementary special education for 2 years with Teach for America. My teaching background helps me educate others on the history, philosophy and practical application of the Tarot as tools for personal growth and self reflection. I also hope to help other readers “go pro” as I was taught by my mentor, Brigit of Biddy Tarot.com.

For you other aspiring readers out there, keep going! The gifts the Tarot can bring into your life are worthwhile. Even if you never intend to make a living at it, keep going, keep learning about yourself and life. It is worth it.

aa3771dc8cef9afce28999ae164d6afc

 

Great book for learning about psychic abilities: http://www.amazon.com/The-Gift-Understand-Develop-Abilities/dp/1577312058 (Shout out to the Snakred Circle blog for this one!)

Great book for learning about Tarot: http://www.amazon.com/Seventy-Eight-Degrees-Wisdom-Book-Tarot/dp/1578634083

My website 🙂 www.thejoyfullotus.com

Photography done by LHV photography. Follow her blog about photography and perosonal empowerment here: https://jumptab.wordpress.com/

 

2 responses to “How I Became a Professional Tarot Reader

  1. I would be very interested in a post about how you distinguish between your thoughts and clairaudient messages. I’m also both clairaudient and clairsentient and sometimes it’s totally clear that I’m getting info through one or the other but there are also moments when I feel hazy about it and wonder if my mind is just making stuff up.

    • Yogaleigh, I will definitely work on that post. I still have moments where I wonder the same thing, but I have also learned some ways to check in with myself and my guides to cut through the hazy moments. I will offer these tips and maybe it will help you do the same ❤ Thanks for your feedback and giving me some direction for my next post

Leave a Reply

